Cultural Care Au Pair

Live as an Au Pair in the USA

For people aged 18-26 years

Call us now on: 0800 085 1950

News from Caroline in the USA!



We have some news from Caroline from Co. Donegal travelled to live with her host family in New York last August and gives us and update on how her year is going so far! We would like to wish her all the best for the remainder of her time and keep in touch and keep sending us those wonderful photos!

How would you describe the service throughout the application process? 

I thought the service was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always there to answer any questions that I had and would ring me often to see how I was getting on.

How did you choose your HF or how did you know they were the right match for you?

 I first received an email telling me I had been matched with a host family. We then arranged a phone call. I had all the questions ready that I wanted to ask my host family to make sure they were the family for me. The phone call went well and we arranged to Skype with each other later that day. It was great seeing the family and talking with the host children getting to know them and learning about their daily routine. We connected straight away and I knew they were the family for me, we stayed in touch often through email

How long did it take you to adapt to the new surroundings?

It took me a couple of weeks to settle in and get use to everything but once I got into the routine and got to know my family and the area I was fine. My host family were great and made me feel welcome. I also met another couple of au pairs that stayed close to me which is great as we can meet up and talk to each other about our experiences and socialise on our time off. A couple of au pairs that stayed close to me which is great as we can meet up and talk to each other about our experiences and socialise on our time off.

Please describe atypical day in your life as an au pair.

6:45-8:30am-  I wake the children up and make their lunch and snack for the day. I then prepare breakfast and then drop the children at school.

8:30 – 10:30am- I put the children’s laundry on and tidy their rooms. Empty the dish washer. Buy any groceries I might need for the day.

2:30 – 7:30pm- I pick up the children from school, when we get home I help the youngest host child with her homework and give her a healthy snack. We then do some activities together e.g. Make play dough, bake cookies, play board games, outdoor games. I then prepare and serve the children their dinner, after dinner I drop and pick up the children from their dance and soccer classes.

8pm- After I finish I sometimes go to the gym or meet up with the girls for a catch up.  

How would you and your host children spend time together?

We do lots of things together from making play dough to baking cookies and playing board and card games. My host child is also very creative so we often do a lot of art and craft activities together. We enjoyed making lots of fun decorations for Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and of course St Patrick’s Day!  What was your biggest challenge and how did you manage to overcome it? I think the most challenging time for me was at Christmas as it was my first Christmas away from my family and homesickness started to kick in, but it was great being able to Skype with my family and friends back home. My host family was great and made me feel welcome and asked me to join them at their relative’s house for Christmas. I have now been here for 7 months and it still feels like I just got here! The time sure fly’s in. I currently just visited California, La, Las Vegas, The Grand Canyon and San Francisco it was awesome!! This experience has made me a stronger and a more confident person. I have met some amazing people with whom I will be friends with for life and been to places I never thought I would See! It really is a once in a life time opportunity and an experience that I will take with me for the rest of my life.